Our Halal Research
In order to keep the shelf life long, manufacturers introduce preservatives and emulsifiers to food. These preservatives and emulsifiers are identified by numbers and some of these are made out of animal based products including pig. Usually the label will state if they are animal or vegetable derived however some do not specify hence I have written to them and clarified the status.
Also, in order to enhance the flavour, producers add Alcohol to most soft drinks, fruit juices and ice creams, however if the quantity is minimal, businesses by law are not required to disclose this information in labelling the goods.
Due to the above I have attempted to give you these contaminated products so that you are informed.
Please note that this information is for Australian products sold in Australia and might not be the same for any other country. Also note that we do not endorse any halal certifiers nor do we claim to be the expert in this field, the simple approach I took was to ask the producer/retailer some questions and have published below their response for your consideration. You can take this information up with your Aalim or Imaam and seek his guidance on consumption.
There are some Ulama’s of the opinion that we can consume them under certain conditions, please do your own research on this to seek their opinion.
If you have any questions or require further clarification please contact the manufacturer/distributor of the respective products.
Masjid Taqwa - Brisbane Australia